Posted in Hugh Masekela, Jazz, Music, Music Writer's Exercise

#MWE Day 6: Hugh Masekela

Now Playing > Masekela > Tomorrow (1987)

I forgot where I heard the name from my teens but I remember him appearing as session player for one or another. Looking at Discogs, he actually showed up in songs by Simply Red, Cyndi Lauper, PM Dawn and – gasp! – Blancmange. His collaborated frequently with Paul Simon. Maybe it was “Graceland” that I came across him.

Bouncy positive afrojazz as you would expect. The subject matter may feel a bit dated, but you know history won’t be made without this. His talents were appreciated across generations and we’re the better for it.

RIP Hugh.

musicbee-masekela

Author:

Father. Husband. Taxpayer. Corporate Slave. Hopefully has just hit the midpoint of his life.

Leave a comment